Enabled Header banner but I don't see it

Please post any support questions here. Guest posting is allowed
lavalamp213

Enabled Header banner but I don't see it

Post by lavalamp213 »

Hi- I don't see Header banner in Extensions.

I see it in "customise-manage extensions" and I enabled it but can't figure out where to access it so I can use it. :roll:

Would appreciate some assistance.
thanks
lavalamp213

Re: Enabled Header banner but I don't see it

Post by lavalamp213 »

I found it! yay, but I am not able to get my banner up there.

I have a jpg image, I put it into the forum image folder. But I guess I don't know exactly how to make it work, what url to put in the first field.

I tried /images/Banner.jpg
I tried a few things but nothing worked.
Administrator
Site Admin
Posts: 514
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 11:30 am

Re: Enabled Header banner but I don't see it

Post by Administrator »

The correct image path is very important. Placing it in the images folder (as you have done) is the best way if you are hosting it yourself.

So its the url of the root of your forum followed by /images/banner.jpg (or whatever the banners name and extension are)

The correct path on my demo board is

https://banner.hifikabin.me.uk/images/banner.jpg
lavalamp213

Re: Enabled Header banner but I don't see it

Post by lavalamp213 »

Thank you for the reply.
Unfortunately, it's still not working.

What I get is the phpbb banner disappears and there is just a narrow band at the top with a teensy icon for my board index in the center.

Is there some requirement for the file? I have tried a few different ones.
one banner is a jpg, 239 kb, 1181x236
the other is a jpeg , 67kb, 500x100

I use the image path:
https://public_html/images/banner.jpg

I'm vexed.
Administrator
Site Admin
Posts: 514
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 11:30 am

Re: Enabled Header banner but I don't see it

Post by Administrator »

lavalamp213 wrote: Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:57 am Thank you for the reply.
Unfortunately, it's still not working.

What I get is the phpbb banner disappears and there is just a narrow band at the top with a teensy icon for my board index in the center.

Is there some requirement for the file? I have tried a few different ones.
one banner is a jpg, 239 kb, 1181x236
the other is a jpeg , 67kb, 500x100

I use the image path:
https://public_html/images/banner.jpg

I'm vexed.
You need to replace public_html with the real URL of your board
lavalamp213

Re: Enabled Header banner but I don't see it

Post by lavalamp213 »

Got it!

Thank you so much for your patience and help.
-Joan
Administrator
Site Admin
Posts: 514
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 11:30 am

Re: Enabled Header banner but I don't see it

Post by Administrator »

No Problem, glad you got there in the end